

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

One Old State Capitol Plaza Springfield, Illinois 62701

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 8337 Champaign, IL 61826

Telephone: 217-493-0047 www.LincolnAcademyIllinois.org

Honoring the great citizens of today Celebrating the great citizens for tomorrow

October 18, 2024 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Leanne Barnhart (217) 493-0047

Student Laureates to be honored October 26 by The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – The top students representing Illinois' colleges and universities will be honored during special ceremony hosted by The Lincoln Academy of Illinois at 2 p.m. Saturday, October 26 at the University of Illinois Springfield's Performing Arts Center.

The 50th annual Lincoln Academy Student Laureate program will recognize excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities by seniors from each of the state's four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities.

The program will include welcoming remarks by the Honorable Ron Spears, the Academy Chancellor. Each Student Laureate will receive the Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Award certificate signed by Spears and the President of The Lincoln Academy, Governor JB Pritzker; a Lincoln medallion; a challenge coin; and a \$1,000 check from The Lincoln Academy. Student Laureates are selected by their individual schools. Those to be honored as Class of 2024 Student Laureates include:

Institution, Student Laureate, Home Town

Augustana College, Lazlow Brian William Ziebel, McHenry, IL Aurora University, Olivia DeAnn Buzzelli, Plymouth, MI Benedictine University, Jordan Reilly Werner, Huntley, IL Bradley University, Marissa Tiana Perez, LaGrange Highlands, IL Chicago State University, Danina Amina Hughes, Chicago, IL Columbia College Chicago, Tyler Harding, Commerce, MI Concordia University Chicago, Gabrielle Marguerite Mintrup, Roselle, IL DePaul University, Jamari Davion Grant, Chicago, IL Dominican University, Ingrid Bustos Aleman, Chicago, IL Eastern Illinois University, Jade Akilah Maxwell, Richton Park, IL East-West University, TyBrys Jama Lamb, Morgantown, WV Elmhurst University, Lucia Gaviria Vesga, Antioquia, Colombia Eureka College, Hayden L. Skaggs, Jeffersonville, IN

Governors State University, Latrice Nicole Jones, Hazel Crest, IL Greenville University, Cate Elizabeth Cota, Roundup, MT Illinois College, Marvin Romo, Granite City, IL Illinois Institute of Technology, Ryan Stephen Manthy, Arlington Heights, IL Illinois State University, Gabriela Ledesma, Chiriqui, Panama Illinois Wesleyan University, Victoria Ballesteros-Gonzalez, Adeje, Spain Judson University, Jackson David Fry, Martinsville, IN Knox College, Jasmine Jane Lerner, Highland Park, IL Lake Forest College, Josiah K. Kidd, Mesa, AZ Lewis University, Irena Ilic, Willow Springs, IL Loyola University Chicago, Rohan Jaiswal, Naperville, IL McKendree University, Destiny Johnson, Maryville, IL Millikin University, Olivia Claire Swords, Decatur, IL Monmouth College, Lea Kristine Selguist, Peru, IL National Louis University, Edwin Rosendo, Chicago, IL North Central College, Jasmine Alely Tixta, Des Plaines, IL North Park University, Rebekah Joy Yue-Ming Baker, Chicago, IL Northeastern Illinois University, Lisa Marie Sanders, Chicago, IL Northern Illinois University, Emma Gladys Whitlock, North Aurora, IL Northwestern University, Maya Alexandra Vuchic, Madison, NJ Principia College, Tobin Blair, Bainbridge Island, WA Quincy University, Parker John Lymenstull, Oswego, IL Rockford University, Julisa Gutierrez, Rockford, IL Roosevelt University, Hlib Miasnychenko, Wheeling, IL St. Xavier University, Gavin Marcel Dudley, Berwyn, IL School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Mya Nicole Jones, Gilbertsville, PA Southern Illinois University Carbondale, Carlos Emil Gomez, Geneva, IL Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Anozha Singletary, Schaumburg, IL Trinity Christian College, Julianna Padilla, Berwyn, IL University of Chicago, Monica Ruiz House, Davidsburg, MI University of Illinois Chicago, Monica Jocelinne Padilla, Chicago, IL University of Illinois Springfield, Anna Schurz, Carbondale, IL University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Ashley Equihua, Summit, IL University of St. Francis, Michelle Valencia, Chicago, IL VanderCook College of Music, Courtney De Venuto, Manhattan, IL Western Illinois University, Richard Anzueto, Cicero, IL Wheaton College, Anna Elizabeth Moore, Lisbellaw, Northern Ireland

In addition to honoring the state's Student Laureates, Illinois is unique in the United States in selecting present or former citizens who have made outstanding contributions toward the progress and betterment of humanity to be honored as Laureates of the Lincoln Academy and receive the "Order of Lincoln" from the Governor, a process that has been in place since 1964.

Proceeds from the spring Laureate Convocation are used to support the Student Laureate program each fall. For more information visit <u>www.LincolnAcademylllinois.org</u> or The Lincoln Academy's social media sites.

#